Limetown – Two-Up Productions

From the website:

Ten years ago, over three hundred men, women and children disappeared from a small town in Tennessee, never to be heard from again.

In this seven-part podcast, American Public Radio host Lia Haddock asks the question once more, “What happened to the people of Limetown?

Limetown-logo-SQ-Large

I’ve only just recently discovered my love for podcasts. It started with Serial last year (which is amazing in every way and you should totally listen to it right now) but I only discovered fictional podcasts about a month ago. I’ve always enjoyed audiobooks, but never like this. The sound effects make them this completely immersive experience that really doesn’t compare to anything else I’ve encountered.

Limetown was my first fiction podcast, and it’s set up very much like Serial is. The host, Lia Haddock, is an investigative journalist who tells the story through a series of interviews, phone calls, and personal experiences. This podcast is done so well that I forgot it was fiction on more than one occasion. The voice acting is believable, and I didn’t find any of it contrived or cheesey (as has been my experience with other podcasts). There is also some news footage and a 911 call that make this feel so realistic! I’m not really into scary stuff – the scariest movie I’ve seen lately is Hocus Pocus. For whatever reason, this medium is a bit easier for me to handle. It helps that I’m normally listening in the middle of the day from the safety of my car. Despite that, some of the scenes were downright creepy, and had me looking over my shoulder. One part in particular will stay with me probably forever.

I’ve already told several friends about this and so far none of them have been disappointed. I’m really grateful that this was my first fictional podcast experience, because it was so well done that I immediately googled podcasts like it, and have been listening on a daily basis ever since. Side note and unexpected benefit – my house has never been cleaner! It’s amazing how many boring and unpleasant tasks one can accomplish whilst listening to a podcast. I cannot wait for season 2 of this one! One weird thing… the synopsis bills it as a seven-part podcast, but there are only six episodes…not really sure what is going on with that. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Despite all of that, this podcast is flipping awesome and you should listen to it as soon as possible.

Rating: Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 10.58.06 PM

One thought on “Limetown – Two-Up Productions

Leave a Reply

