The Leviathan Chronicles – Christof Laputka

From the website:

Leviathan_cover-684x278.jpg

The Leviathan Chronicles is a revolutionary science fiction audio drama podcast featuring the voices of over 60 actors, professional sound effects and an original music soundtrack. The story is centered around a hidden city called Leviathan that lies deep within the dark trenches of the Pacific Ocean. The city is home to a community of immortals that sought to create a utopia over 1,000 years ago. For a millennia, they lived in peace and secrecy, gently influencing world events to aid the advancement of mankind. But a terrible secret has been kept deep within the catacombs of Leviathan that threatens the existence of the immortals, and quite possibly the entire world.

One woman named Macallan Orsel, a young genetic scientist in New York, discovers she is descended from a group of immortals that rebelled against Leviathan and are now waging a civil war around the globe. As the immortal war spills into the realm of mortal man, Macallan realizes that she holds the key to stopping the battle and bringing peace to Leviathan. But a clandestine government agency called The Blackdoor Group is trying to exterminate the immortal population and has identified Macallan as their critical target.

I feel obligated to preface this review with the fact that this podcast is unfinished, and very likely abandoned at this point. The last episode was released on October 8th, 2013. Since then, Laputka has addressed fans on the site page imploring them to be patient and promising a conclusion to season two, as well as confirming a third season. That was almost two years ago. Since then, it’s been complete radio silence from Laputka and team. Now, I do not know him personally, nor do I know what has happened that has caused the show to cease production. But for me as a fan, this feels really shitty. If you’ve abandoned the project, no matter what the reason, let your fans know. Don’t leave us all hopeful and hanging without any closure whatsoever. It’s inconsiderate at best, and downright thoughtless at worst.

Going into this, I had absolutely no idea that it was unfinished. I found this podcast while looking for recommendations after finishing Limetown. It got really great reviews and so many people were recommending it so passionately. When I downloaded the episodes, I could see that there were 38, and that the last one was released several years ago. 38 episodes! Wow, this was the longest podcast I had ever seen! It never crossed my inexperienced mind that with so many episodes released so long ago, and having such enthusiastic fans, that it wasn’t complete. Lesson learned.

The show creators bill it as an audio adventure, and the narrator says it at the beginning of every episode. I’m a pretty cynical person, so the first time I heard that it made me immediately skeptical and I thought it was a pretty cheesy description. Just a couple of minutes in I realized how wrong my first impression was. It was like listening to a movie, complete with soundtrack and sound effects. Despite enjoying it, I did feel like the first couple of episodes were a bit campy. But by episode 3 I was fully invested, and totally hooked. I messaged a friend and told her she should check it out right away. I don’t normally recommend anything that I haven’t finished, and won’t repeat this mistake again. Another lesson learned. Sorry D!

Despite all of that, I’m really glad that I didn’t know this podcast was unfinished. Had I known, I never would have started it, and that would have been a mistake because I enjoyed the hell out of it. I don’t regret listening to it even for a minute. It was so well done, with really thrilling writing and stellar character development. The voice acting on the whole was superb, and I’m really bummed that they don’t have a cast list posted anywhere. I’m pretty positive that they changed actresses for the main character at some point in season two. It’s one of my life’s greatest mysteries and it drives me bananas that I won’t ever solve it.

I highly recommend listening even though you will likely never know the conclusion. The ambiguity is totally worth getting to be a part of this creation. It has action, drama, romance, sci-fi, humor and so much mystery. I miss the characters and being a part of their adventures. I miss listening. I do NOT miss the music… yikes, that was a pretty big miss. But I’d listen to that shitty music on repeat for a week if it meant another episode. I really hope it comes back. Being realistic, I think it has less of a chance than a popsicle in hell, but I’m holding out hope. Laputka has one hell of an imagination, and it would be a damn shame if he isn’t able to share more of it with the world.

Rating: Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.10.19 PM

2 thoughts on “The Leviathan Chronicles – Christof Laputka

Leave a Reply

