Wool – Hugh Howey

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 8.26.59 PM.pngFrom the jacket:

What would you do if the world outside was deadly, and the air you breathed could kill?

And you lived in a place where every birth required a death, and the choices you made could save lives – or destroy them.

This is Jule’s story.

This is the world of Wool.

 

Hugh Howey is a mother fucking genius. This book just became my second all time favorite sci-fi, surpassed only by Ender’s Game. Just like I predicted, I could not put it down. It grabbed me from the first couple of sentences:

The children were playing while Holston climbed to his death; he could hear them squealing as only happy children do. While they thundered about frantically above, Holston took his time, each step methodical and ponderous, as he wound his way around and around the spiral staircase, old boots ringing out on metal treads.

My thoughts immediately began to race. Who is Holston, and why is he dying? More importantly, why is he calmly walking to is death? As I continued reading, page after page of details unfolded about the giant underground silo that he calls home, with all that remains of the human race.

When I’m creating a review, I like to go back and re-read details to help me organize my thoughts. It’s only been a couple of weeks since I finished this, and sitting down to prep, I got sucked back in all over again. I’m having to physically refrain myself from just diving in again, because I have so many other really great books in my TBR that I’d like to get started on. The struggle is real though. This book is that good.

I’m finding it hard to articulate what is so special about the way this book is written. It was immediately familiar, like putting on your favorite, most worn pair of jeans. The world Howey created is dark, gritty, and terrifying. While I was reading it, I felt like I was in the silo, climbing the seemingly endless stairs, with a secret waiting for me around every turn. The pace of this book was absolutely spot on. I never found myself with a wandering mind wishing to get back to a different character or plot point.

Do you want to know what else was spot on about this book?

The characters.

Juliette is one of the most kick ass protagonists I’ve ever read. You know that feeling you get when you meet a character and think, “I could read about this character forever, and never get tired of experiencing adventures with them”?  That was Juliette for me. She’s brave, resourceful, intelligent, free-spirited, and has no fucks to give about the drama going on around her. There are so many other memorable personalities in this book, and they’re written with such a strong presence, that they leave their mark no matter the length of their tenure in the story. The silo is also a character in an of itself. One that is chock full of mystery and secrets. With each floor that’s unveiled I found myself wishing I could go inside, even if just for a few hours to see it for myself and go exploring.

I’m not going not get into any more detail because I think you should experience it for yourself. There are two other books in the Silo Series; Shift and Dust. I’ve read them both, and plan on posting reviews for them. I’m glad Howey wrote them, because I love the world he created and would have kept reading about it forever. With that being said, I feel like Wool really stands well on its own. I finished the final page and thought it had a really solid ending. I still had tons of questions, but I was satisfied with the conclusion. It was sort of exciting to just leave their ultimate fates up to my imagination. I’m curious to hear other reader’s thoughts on this.

Final thoughts: Read this book!! Then tell me what you think so we can talk about it. Seriously. I’m dying to talk to someone about this book. Also Hugh Howey is one of my new favorite authors; he’s incredibly talented and creative. I’ve already gone in and added every other thing he has ever written to my Amazon wish list.

Rating: Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 10.58.06 PM

Favorite Characters: Juliette, Marck, Solo, Jahns

Memorable Quotes:

And now you see why some facts, some pieces of knowledge, have to be snuffed out as soon as they form. Curiosity would blow across such embers and burn this silo to the ground.

It was the same as color. You could only describe a new color in terms of hues previously seen. You could mix the known, but you couldn’t create the strange out of nothing.

Instead of manipulating people, why not empower them? Let them know what we’re up against. And have that drive our collective will.

Once guns were made, who would unmake them? Barrels rested on shoulders and bristled like pincushions above the crowd. There were things, like spoken ideas, that were almost impossible to take back.

 

6 thoughts on “Wool – Hugh Howey

      1. There’s actually two different versions with two different narrators, though they sounded fairly similar in the preview to me. I bought Amanda Sayle and there’s also Minnie Goode. Both are on sale.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

