We’re Alive – Wayland Productions

From the website:

story.jpg

For Army Reserve Soldier Michael Cross, the world as he knew it ended in an instant. One minute, he’s in college, and in the next, rioters are roaming the highway around him, breaking into cars, and literally tearing people apart. This is the day the dead walk. This is the world of We’re Alive.

We’re Alive: Features chapters packing performances and sound effects that rival movies and prove that modern audio drama is undead and well. Join our survivors as they band together, struggle to fortify a safe haven known as the Tower, and discovers that zombies are far from the worst thing in a post-apocalyptic Los Angeles where the rules of human decency no longer apply.

Little food. Little water. Little hope. Who is lucky enough to say “We’re Alive?”

You know that emoji that looks like it’s ugly crying? Eyes closed, sagging eyebrows, and a large, open downturned mouth. You know the one.

Can you picture it?

That was my face this morning, when I got in my car to run an errand, and realized I had finished this podcast the night before. I sat in my car for a few minutes trying to decide what to do next before just slowly backing out and driving to my destination in silence.

I’ve been listening to it for weeks, and it has been my go to whenever I drive anywhere or do any housework or other unpleasant and mind numbing task. The story has been exciting and compelling, and I’ve developed attachments to all of the characters. I normally dread the end of the day when I have to clean the kitchen and put the house back together after it has been ransacked by four small children. (That ugly cry emoji I was referring to earlier? That was my face every night before I got started.)

But the past few weeks, I’ve actually been looking forward to it. I became so immersed in the experience of listening to the show, that I would forget I was standing and washing dishes, or sweeping the floor, or folding clothes.  Sometimes, I would sit down and keep listening long after I was done because I couldn’t bear to pause it until the next day. It was like reading a really great book that I couldn’t put down.

I am having such a podcast hangover right now.

And this podcast is actually finished. I got to listen to the whole thing beginning and end. Unlike the Leviathan Chronicles, which you can read about here.

This story never lets up from the first couple of minutes of episode one, right until the very end. The characters all have such big personalities, and the voice acting is top notch. I loved hearing about Saul, Lizzie, Burt, Riley, Datu, Victor, Kelly, Michael, and Tanya. And that’s not even ALL of the characters. Those are just a few of my favorites!

This is a post-apocalyptic zombie podcast, so there is a lot of violence and gore, but again, this medium makes it a lot more palatable for me. I would never watch a show like this, but I cannot get enough of these audio dramas. It was thrilling, creepy, and sometimes downright scary and I loved every single second of it.

(Except for the part where they collect their sweat and put it in jars. GAG. I don’t like sweat so that part was super hard for me. But the rest was awesome. )

Final Thoughts: I’ve already told everyone I know about this podcast, and now I’m telling all of you. Listen to it right away, you will not regret it! If you’ve already listened to this one, PLEASE tell me if you’ve found any others like it. I’m a sad and directionless panda right now with nothing to listen to.

Rating:Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 10.58.06 PM

BONUS: I visited their website, and it looks like they are about to release a companion miniseries! The first episode of We’re Alive: Lockdown, will be released on April 25th! I cannot wait to revisit this cast and the story!

3 thoughts on “We’re Alive – Wayland Productions

Leave a Reply

