Readathon – Preparation Edition

I’m getting more and more excited as Saturday approaches. I’ve even taken Friday off work so I can have more time to prepare, rest, and plan snacks. It took me most of the week, but I’ve finally nailed down a book list that I’m going to try to tackle on Saturday. I will likely only finish 1 (maybe 2) of these, but I’ve read up, and if the internets are to be any guide, variety is key to a successful readathon!

I’ve had a copy of Luckiest Girl Alive for a few months now, and that one seems really exciting and fast paced. Also, books with this sort of plot are normally unputdownable for me.

Fangirl is one that I’ve been dying to read FOREVER. I bought a copy earlier this week, and it will be here on Friday!

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 3.55.16 PM.png

The Mortal Instruments series is one that has sort of under the radar for me. Not until Lady Midnight came out, and I saw all of my fellow Bookstagrammers freaking out about it, did I realize that there was a whole series to read before I could start it. I was lucky enough to find Book One in a Little Free Library in my neighborhood. I planned on reading that one and seeing how I felt, before ordering the entire (BEAUTIFUL) box set that I’ve had my eye on. My wife surprised me this morning by buying it for me! She even paid to have it rushed so I would get it by Friday. That’s love people.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 3.57.02 PM.png

Between all of those, I think I’m pretty set as far as books go. I’ve also read how helpful it can be to plan snacks, and meals in advance, so you don’t have to waste precious time with food preparation on the day of the readathon. Here are some snack ideas I have (though I’d love suggestions if you’ve got them):

  • Turkey Jerky
  • Nuts
  • Chocolate covered (anything really, let’s be real)
  • Fruit
  • Hard-boiled eggs
  • Finger Sandwiches
  • Trail mix
  • COFFEE

For my timezone, the readathon will begin at 7AM. I am not so die-hard that I plan on reading for 24 hours straight, but I do hope to do between 16 and 18. I’m going to update my progress here, and likely also on Instagram – @hrhthebookqueen.

Just a few more days!!!

2 thoughts on “Readathon – Preparation Edition

  1. Loved your post! Well done. I love the Immortal Instruments series. It is one of myf avorites. Hope you enjoy it!
    Great idea with the hardboiled eggs. I was thinking about that too. I am doing hummus and pita chips, celery, apples, and peanut butter. Probably going to be bad for dinner and do pizza.

    Like

Leave a Reply

