2016 Wrap-Up

2016 was an excellent year of reading! I finished a total of 61 books in a combination of mostly print, some audio, and (for the first time ever) a few eBooks.

Print books: 39

Audio books: 18

eBooks: 4 (this of course does not count the mass quantities of fan fiction I read on my phone. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

Books written by female authors: 34

Books written by people of color: 2

New authors discovered: 33

ARCs: 5

 

LGBT Fiction: 5

 

 

Some breakdowns:

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-22-26-pm

Clearly I need to try and get more non-fiction reads in for 2017.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-21-56-pm

I read an overwhelming majority of YA and Scifi. Honestly, that’s not likely to change for 2017. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-21-04-pm

Rather than leave a bad review, I normally just don’t finish a book if I don’t like it. I think  honest reviews are important, but writing a negative review is still really hard for me. Not sure if that will ever change.

Favorite New Authors:

I was lucky to discover a lot of really great new authors this year, mostly thanks to Litsy and Bookstagram. My favorites were definitely Hugh Howey, Sarah J Maas, V.E. Schwab, Neal Stephenson, Cassandra Clare, Jay Kristoff & Aime Kaufman.

Favorite Book of 2016: 

My all time favorite for the year was definitely A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, followed closely by Wool by Hugh Howey.

Most Fun Read: 

The most fun I’ve had reading a book this year, and for several years previous would definitely be, Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple.

Best Audio Books: 

Audio books changed my life this year as far as reading goes. I’ve got a full time job,  four young children, and a house to take care of. I started listening to podcasts, which led into audio books while driving and doing chores. Not only have those things become a hell of a lot more enjoyable, but I’ve been able to read more than ever. I’ve found that I enjoy audio books more when there is a cast of voice actors, but can still enjoy a singular narrator when they can convincingly play multiple characters well.

Top 10 Books of 2016: 

 

Most Anticipated Reads of 2017: 

There are so many incredible books coming out in 2017 that I cannot wait to get my hands on. I’ve also discovered a lot of older stuff thanks to Litsy, Bookstagram & the All the Books! podcast (which I highly recommend). I’ll be finishing several series that I began this year, and starting a few new ones as well.

Leave a Reply

