What Alice Forgot – Liane Moriarty

201506-summer-reading-12-949x1356Publisher: Berkley Books

Publication Date: June 2nd, 2011

From the Jacket:

Alice Love is twenty-nine, crazy about her husband, and pregnant with her first child. So imagine Alice’s surprise when she comes to on the floor of a gym (a gym! She HATES the gym) and is whisked off to the hospital where she discovers the honeymoon is truly over—she’s getting divorced, she has three kids, and she’s actually 39 years old. Alice must reconstruct the events of a lost decade, and find out whether it’s possible to reconstruct her life at the same time. She has to figure out why her sister hardly talks to her, and how is it that she’s become one of those super skinny moms with really expensive clothes. Ultimately, Alice must discover whether forgetting is a blessing or a curse, and whether it’s possible to start over…

I started this book at the very end of December, fully intending to take it into the new year with me. I’ve already read 60 books this year and had hoped to finish on an even number. The two other books I’ve read by Liane Moriarty were entertaining, but I wasn’t overly impressed. I was pleasantly surprised when instead of an easy, slow read, I found a funny, touching, unputdownable book that I devoured in less than 48 hours. It made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion, other parts were unbearably sad, but perhaps most surprisingly was how thought provoking it was. I have not had this much fun reading a book since Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple.

Moriarty is masterful at keeping readers in suspense. I stayed up far too late two nights in a row just trying to get to the part in the book when I finally learned who the frig Gina was! After being underwhelmed by her previous work, I’m so glad I gave this one a chance. I’ll definitely check out her other stuff, and whole heartedly recommend this one. It’s a perfect book to take on a trip, but be prepared to be completely sucked in.

Rating: Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 10.58.06 PM

Favorite Characters: Young Alice, Frannie, Elisabeth, Olivia

Memorable Quotes:

They would think she was savoring the taste (blueberries, cinnamon, cream-excellent), but she was actually savoring the whole morning, trying to catch it, pin it down, keep it safe before all those precious moments became yet another memory.

She was busy thinking about the concept of forgiveness. It was such a lovely, generous idea when it wasn’t linked to something awful that needed forgiving.

He’s the first person I want to tell when somebody upsets me; my foot pressing on the accelerator, desperate to get home from work just to tell him, the moment I tell him, the moment his face lights up with fury on my behalf, it’s better, it’s fixed.

2 thoughts on “What Alice Forgot – Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

