April 2017 Wrap-Up

I’m slowly but surely getting caught up on these monthly wrap-ups. April was a really fantastic month of reading. I read 10 books, one which became a new all-time favorite and I finally discovered the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. This series was absolutely delicious and I went all in with the YA romance. I have no regrets.

612jggvec0l-_sx329_bo1204203200_

 

I absolutely treasured this book and it has joined the ranks of my all-time favorites. It’s a re-telling of Jane Eyre, but this Jane a totally bad-ass vigilante version. While there are several parallel plot points, it’s also entirely original. The historical details are perfect and for those who love Jane Eyre, it’s like meeting up with an old friend. I cannot recommend this one enough. Plus, it basically has my favorite cover art ever.

 

 

51f6Y0fRn8L

 

The Impossible Fortress wasn’t a five crown read for me, but I find myself thinking back on it all the time. I had an absolute blast reading it. It’s full of nerdy computer details and is set in the 80s, with a quirky group of friends and a really sweet love story. If you’re looking for a fun, light read, definitely pick this one up.

 

 

 

5195k+WKsbL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This. Book. Oh my sweet baby Jesus, THE FEELS. I highly recommend listening to this one on audio. The narrator has a beautiful accent and does an incredible job. I sat listening, tears streaming down my face, on more than one occasion. The Nightingale is about two sisters living in Nazi occupied France during WWII. I do not want to say too much because I think it’s one of those stories you should just experience without much prior knowledge. This is a beautifully written book and everyone should read it.

 

 

The whole line up…

 

 

Jane Steele – 5 crowns

A Murder In Time – 3 crowns

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – 3 crowns

Before I Fall – 4 crowns

Shatter Me – 4 crowns

Unravel Me – 4 crowns

Ignite Me – 5 crowns

Destroy Me – 5 crowns

The Impossible Fortress – 4 crowns

The Nightingale – 5 crowns

Leave a Reply

