Geekerella – Ashley Poston

81uGB-QT1hL

Publisher: Quirk Books

Publication Date: April 4th, 2017

Page Count: 320 Pages (Hardcover)

From the Jacket:

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.

Oh, this book was SO MUCH FUN! It was sweet and dorky and romantic and wonderful. Full of loyal friendships and witty banter and fandoms. I have read my fair share of fairytale re-tellings, and this was by far the most relevant and inclusive. A truly awful step family, an adorable animal companion, and lots of unexpected helpers coming together to make a dream come true. With a super dreamy megastar (and secret geek) for Prince Charming, a bright orange, vegan food truck for a magical carriage and a feisty, green-haired lesbian with a heart of a gold for a fairy godmother.

I was so here for all of this.

Poston weaves a smart, funny, charming story that is a love letter to all fandoms everywhere. I felt like I knew these characters from page one. Written with authentically voiced characters, I felt their frustrations and insecurities and heart breaks and hopes. I swooned over the budding romance and relished in all of the nerdy details from the Starfield fandom. Unlike in Fangirl, where I was bored by all of the parts that incorporated the fanfic, I looked forward to the tidbits from the show episodes and movie reboot. I read this one in two sittings, and if not for lots of parenting and adulting, it would have been one.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 10.12.21 PM.png

Final Thoughts: Everyone who has ever been a part of a fandom should read this book. And if you haven’t ever been a part of a fandom, reading this book will make you want to go out and join a whole bunch of them. Go pick up a copy and prepare to be charmed and smile until your face hurts. I love this and I cannot wait to read more of Poston’s stuff.

Rating: Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 10.58.06 PM

Favorite Characters: Sage, Elle, Darien, Lonny

Memorable Quotes:

It’s also awkward to be so short you can see all the way up into someone’s cerebral cortex, but welcome to my life.

I’m half of my father. Half of my hero. And I am half of my mother. Half soft sighs and half sharp edges. And if they can be Carmindor and Amara–then somewhere in my blood and bones I can be too. I’m the lost princess. I’m the villain of my story, and the hero. Part of my mom and part of my dad. I am a fact of the universe. The Possible and the Impossible. I am not no one. I am my parents’ daughter, and then I realize–I realize that in this universe they’re alive too. They’re alive through me. Fashioning my hands into a pistol, I point it at the ceiling, lifting my chin, raising my eyes against the blinding stage lights, and I ignite the stars.

Did my coworker just exact vegan food-poisoning revenge on my behalf? I don’t know whether to be grateful or terrified.

One thought on “Geekerella – Ashley Poston

Leave a Reply

